Train Wood is a piece of woodland bordering the River Wensum on the northern side of Norwich, at the start of Marriott’s Way, the 26 mile off-road path into rural Norfolk direct from the city. The woodland starts at Barn Road Roundabout and finishes at Anderson’s Meadow, covering approximately 12 acres. A designated County Wildlife Site, it is a rare example of wet and dry woodland.
Train Wood provides a green lung for the local area, with stunning views across the River Wensum. The area has a long history of human habitation. Part of the River Wensum Floodplain, originally marshland, it formed part of the eastern defensive boundary of the city against attack with a terminal tower of the medieval city wall just across the river. It also has historic links to the weaving trade, the dyeing of fabric being commonplace along the northern Wensum in medieval times. It was a fishery until comparatively recently, and was also the site of the now demolished Norwich City Station, which was damaged during the Baedeker Blitz in 1942. The station survived until the 1960s. The site now occupies part of what was the engine sheds and track.
The area is naturally diverse, providing a home for foxes, otters, woodpeckers, and a myriad of other bird and plant life, as well as aquatic life. It also features fishing stages, restored by Friends of Train Wood. Originally built by Norwich City Council, they had been in a state of disrepair for some years. They provide one of the few free, easy-access fishing areas in the city, with fish from dace to tench and carp in evidence.
It was believed until 2012 that the area was owned by Norwich City Council, but during an archeological dig on the site in 2011 and 2012, investigations led to the conclusion that the land was in fact owned by Norfolk County Council.
To read further on the different areas of interest in more detail click on the links to the right.